The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

In today's age there are a plethora of opportunities that are provided to an individual to excel in a field. In order to make the most of these opportunities, a person must know his capabilities and interests. There are a lot of times, when we ourselves are not familiar with our strengths and weaknesses. We are not sure what we might be good at or excel in. Thus, it is of utmost importance that we have a 'self-knowledge' about ourselves.

The first step to self knowledge is certainly not the rejection of the familiar. There can be various incidents in our lives that hint what we might be good at. Consider for example, a person who is an avid planner, always plans outings with friends or organizes the cultural events held in college, could take up Project Management and Strategy Development in his life!! All that is required is we pick the hints of the cues, introspect and understand what is best suited for us.

If we reject what is familiar to us, we might just be lost and square one again. There are various incidents that govern the way we behave or respond to certain things. There is a need to find a link between the chain of events and what we might be good at. For example, a person who has been a professional pilot for over 10 years in his life, loves cooking as a hobby in his spare time. As he enjoys the culinary world so much, he introspects and understands that his main passion is life is to cook, and thus he embarks on a new journey to make a name in the culinary world. This wouldn't have happened, if we reject what is already familiar to us. The idea is to introspect and understand what makes us happy the most.

A happy person, will be satisfied in what he is doing and would love his work. This can only be achieved when a person, puts in effort and try and understand himself and follows the path that makes him happy. Identifying your passion through self knowledge is something that can bring you immense peace and satisfaction. So, the idea is to not reject what is already familiar as it can definitely act as a building block in discovering oneself and the interests of the person. Instead, it is to introspect and understand what your strengths are and build upon those to lead a happy and successful life.