The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

While it is important that the number of illegal immigrants should be checked, there isn't enough evidence that is provided in the assertion which states that the autonomy of a country is based on the strength of its borders. For example, the autonomy of a country can also depend on the government on the country and the way in which the country is ruled. It can also depend on whether the country is a communist country or whether it is a democracy and there are prerogative rights of every person. It can depend on how free the citizens of the country feel.

There isn't enough evidence cited in the argument that corroborates the assertion mentioned that the economy of the country would be endangered if the number of illegal immigrants isn't checked. There can be various other reasons such as a phase of recession in the country or the fall of the government which could affect the economy of the country to a great extent. Thus to solely base affected economy on the number of illegal immigrants does not seem plausible.

The writer asserts that the national identity of a country is endangered by the number of illegal immigrants entering the country. While this does seem to make sense, because the illegal immigrants can definitely pose a treat to the security of the country, the writer has not given enough evidence to prove his assertion. For example, the national identity of a country could also be endangered because of the incompetent ruling of the government.

What would rather be of prime importance rather the economy or the national identity would be the security of the nation which would be at a danger and the foremost step that should be taken must be done by keeping in mind the security of the nation and that of its citizens. While illegal immigrants pose a threat, it does not seem wise to return them to their country of origin. There might be cases where the illegal immigrants are a part of some terrorist group or some other activists of sort. It only seems legit to make sure that there is a thorough interrogation that is done by the government officials and made sure that the immigrants do not pose a threat, based on the investigation and interrogation, further action should be taken.

Therefore, while illegal immigrants do pose a threat to a country, the assertion made by the writer does not corroborate for the fact that is mentioned in the assertion. There are no examples that are cited by the writer, that support his claim.