A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The conclusion cited in the argument is based on unproven facts and unsupported claims.

The study which is done does not state anything about the sample size of the children. We don not know about the population of the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and the population of the children living in suburban areas in the United States. If the study was based on a few samples, it cannot be taken as a generalization for the entire country of the United States. There is no evidence which corroborates the fact mentioned by the writer that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States.

There could be a possibility that the water of the Himalayan rivers is comprised of some minerals which make the teeth strong and prevent its decay. This could act a natural advantage for the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal in comparison to the children living in the suburbs if United States. In such a case, the possibility of requiring medical dental care for the Nepal kids is less in comparison to that of the children living in suburban areas in the United States. While it is mentioned that the people in the US, see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year, there is no fact present which talks about how many times do the kids visit the dentist. This could talk about adults and kids and 'people' makes it a very ambiguous statement.

Even if for once, we assume the fact that the kids in the US, visit the dentist on a regular basis, there isn't enough evidence which states that dental habits or the dental hygiene followed by the kids in their normal routine. We are unsure of the eating habits of the kids in the Himalayan region and the kids in the suburbs of US. While the doctor may suggest something, we are not sure whether the kids follow that or are careless in their dental habits which could lead to their tooth decay.

Hence, the information given by the writer is not enough in concluding that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. There may be various factors which could result in this, which are not advocated with clear evidence and facts and figures, by the writer.