Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Mass media and Internet have revolutionized the world. Today every information available to a person is a click away. There are a plethora of options available to a person to choose from. However, are we wrong in saying that while it brings us a lot of choice and options, it has shortened our attention spans? Well, one would not be entirely wrong in saying so.

While it has been a great shift of paradigm to the virtual age, along it brings a lot of options by which we digress. There are so many times when we are looking for a particular solution to a problem online and in the process, we find something totally different, interesting and start reading that. In today's age of data mining where the advertisements posted on the site that we are browsing are channelized by keeping in the mind the search history of the person, the temptation of checking out 'those beautiful high heels' on Amazon.com, is just a click away. Hence, enabling us to lose attention towards what we had intended to do.

The abundance of information also gives us an advantage to choose from various options and select what best suits our need. For example, if you want to learn a chapter on thermodynamics, there are plenty of books and online videos that are available online suited for different kinds of readers and also n number of published papers by various elite professors that are available. A student can just browse through the variety of options and choose what best suits his needs and by which method or a video or book, he is able to understand that topic better. This allows us to run through the various options, and select one and then focus on one particular thing, rather than having to read up everything in detail, which saves up a lot of time.

The information out there can be customized to your needs. There maybe a political incident that has happened and you do not agree with the views of your state minister,you would be able to find a lot of blogs where the bloggers' thoughts, who are writing about that issue is in congruence with your thoughts. So, the internet and mass age gives us an opportunity to pay attention to the data that best suits our views or our needs and skim through the rest of the irrelevant data. This allows us to save a lot of time and energy and once we've found the required data, then we can focus all our energies in understanding that data and using it to the enhance our knowledge.