“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument is based on unstated assumptions and conclusion that is not corroborated with facts.

Foremost, there isn't evidence that manned space flights are costly and dangerous. While this 'might' be true considering the examples in the history of manned space flights in the world but there isn't any evidence in the argument which supports this claim. The claim is merely based on an assumption and the assumption fails to be justifiable.

Recent success of a series of unmanned space probes does not account for the all the operations carried henceforth to be unmanned. It highly depends on the nature of the space expedition that is to take place. A few cases of success cannot be accounted for a great number of operations at large when there isn't even a mention of the number of how many space flights were successful and what was the nature of their project.

Moreover, the 'recent success' does not specify success in what field. It could be a success of work which essentially could be done without any human intervention and the unmanned space flight would have been enough for the nature of the task. To extrapolate this piece of information and say that investments should be made in unmanned space flights is taking it too far.

There is not enough evidence which supports how are the unmanned spaceflights are less costly as compared to the manned space flights. There is no comparison given or any numbers that are given which supports this claim. Also, the nature of the useful information being gathered is not specified. There might be information which can only be analysed and understood by a human brain as compared to a machine and it completely depends on the nature of the project for which the space flight has been launched.

Therefore it cannot be concluded that investments should be made in the unmanned space flights because there is not enough evidence which corroborates the same.