Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

A strong military is an essential need of a country. It allows the safety of the citizens of the country and if the citizens of the country are in peace, it is good for the welfare of the society. An art of a country is a depiction of the history of the country and also reflects the past of the country in showing how much importance to art was given in the earlier times.

To compare the the investments in military and arts, does not seem a cogent argument. While, strong military is an essential need of the country for the welfare of the citizens of the country,a representation of art is a mere scale to mark the aesthetics of the country. The investment of the government in one should be independent of the other. For example, in a country like Hong Kong, which is known for its modern development and sky scrapers, there is barely any major investments done in the arts sector of the country, and yet it is one of the places of highest tourist attraction and a strong military power.

Art is a representation of the culture and the heritage of a country and there should be an effort made to preserve the ethos of the country and investments should be made by the government to do so. But is there is a relation between the investments that a government should make in the art sector of country and the military? One would believe that the two are independent of each other and mutually exclusive. We can neither compare and nor generalize this supposition. If we take an example of a country like Greece, which has a very weak economy now, the emphasis on art given by the government completely makes sense. It is one of the major tourist attractions for its scenic beauty and vast landscapes. In this case the government should pay a major attention to the art of the country because it is helping in strengthening the economy of the country. Here maybe, the government is investing as much in art as it is investing in the military of the country.

Therefore, it cannot be a general statement which says that a government should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military because every country has its own needs and its own priorities in terms of the economy of the country and the welfare of the people. It cannot be denied that military plays a vital role in the safety of the country and there should be an independent focus on the investments of the government of a country in arts and in the military of the government.