The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

I would like to start the essay by giving the definition of self knowledge. One can achieve self knowledge of he does not have the thought of familiarity in his mind. Thus I totally agree with the above mentioned statement and going to explain about the phrase with my examples.

Firstly , the thoughts of over confidence is the main cause of familiarity, to achieve great things and to go high places in life, a person must be free from familiarity. Say like if our leaders would have developed a thought that I have learnt more and so I can stop acquiring knowledge, It does not make sense right? For example, A.P.J.Abdul Kalam Sir, the President of India acquired knowledge wherever he went and that thought lead him to go places in life and in people's heart. So, familiarity is just pillar in front of you and not allowing you to succeed further.

Secondly I would like to explain about my personal situation. She was been my best friend since childhood and she is extremely talented right from her studies till the sports. But she did not learn new things in life because the her family always demotivates her by saying that she knows everything in her life and need not gain extra knowledge .This develops a thought of familiarity in her mind and thus her knowledge comes to an end with the peak of familiarity.

Though , Familiarity has many disadvantages, it is advantageous in the way that one can gain self confidence which is very much required day-to-day life. For example, if we have learnt everything for the upcoming exam and we just want to refresh the topics. so while reading through the text if we feel familiar about the topic, then we automatically gain self confidence in achieving the goal. Without self confidence, one can never achieve what they want in life .

Thus, I would like to conclude that though familiarity has few advantages, the disadvantage touches the peak position in life .So, to succeed and gain more knowledge in life , one must neglect the thought of familiar. "Learn more and lead a practical life "