The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that the autonomy of a country is based on the strength of its borders.The author also cites that if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be kept under check, then the country's economy and national identity are endangered.The argument draws many unwarranted assumptions and it fails to substantiate it.This makes the argument totally flawed and impairs the overall effectiveness of the argument.

First of all, the autonomy of a country totally depends on the efficacious leaders and the citizens.It is the people living in a country that makes the country self-independent.It does not depend on whether the people are illegal or legal immigrants.The author cites that the illegal immigrants entering a country pose a threat to the country's economy.Close scrutiny of this statement reveals that the author bases this assumption on an equivocal fact without any evidence.

The threshold of this argument is based on the fact that the illegal immigrants pose a threat to the economy and national identity of a country.However, the author fails to substantiate this statement.He provides no evidence on how they affect the autonomy of the country.

Thus this statement also stands unpersuasive.

The author also states that every effort must be made to return the illegal immigrants back to their country because they pose such threats.But, what if the immigrants are much talented compared to the citizens of the nation.In such a case, this behaviour will deteriorate the country's economy and identity further.Thus this argument is also flawed.

To conclude, the author makes many unwarranted assumptions and fails to substantiate it.Thus the argument is totally flawed for a variety of reasons and stands unpersuasive.