The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year ,our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news .During this time period,most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news.In addition ,local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night program have just cancelled our advertising contracts with us.Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues ,we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given memo is totally flawed for various reasons.The author makes many unwarrented conclusions which totally flaws the memo.

The memo sheds no light on why the late night program started devoting more time to national news and less time to weather and local news.This leaves an unexplained void in the memo.It fails to provide evidence on why more time was devoted to national news.Maybe there was a state wide election going on or some important things going on ,which made them devote more time on national news.There is no explanation on this.

The main point of this argument is the complaints received from the viewers regarding their coverage of weather and local news.The author fails to substantiate why there is a less coverage on weather and local news.Probably,they didn't have trained reporters to cover this news or some other news channel provides better coverage on these issues.So if there is an evidence on another news channel with a late night program which provides a better coverage,this memo is totally flawed.

Since the late night program fails to provides a better coverage on the local news,local businesses rescinded their advertising contracts.The local viewership must have drastically dropped due to their less coverage of local news and because some other program or channel provides a better coverage .So the local business firms might have made a contract with some other channel which has high local residents viewership.If this evidence is provided this would further weaken the argument.

Eventhough they devote less time on weather and local news,there might have been no proper coverage of the news ,which lead to a drop in their viewership.They might not have enough trained reporters to cover those news.So even if they devote more time to weather and local news,without proper reporters they will not be able to provide better coverage even if more time is devoted.The memo provides no information on the reporters and the source ,so this stance also fails.

Even if they devote more time on the coverage of weather and local news,there is no assurance that it would attract more viewers .Now they might be interested in another program or channel which is doing far better.

A survey can be conducted among the local residents to find out what are the aspects that should be improved.Maybe the results of the survey may provide further insight to the issue.

To conclude,the author fails to substantiate proper evidence on what lead to the change in past year.Due to many assumed facts and conclusions,the argument is flawed.