A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure"

The argument is flawed for many reason stated in the it. As well as there are unwarranted assumptions stated which led to the rise of fakeness in the argument. Each statement in the paragraph has it's own fault and is explained in the upcoming passages.

Firstly, To talk about the fund, the movie fund must be increased in order to maintain a quality product is not true. Even low budget movies have better quality than higher budget, so quality doesn't depend on the production.

Second fault which I found was about the advertisement, it is said that the advertisement business is notorious which is not true, even they work sincere for the better quality of the advertisement, so one cannot blame another's work by just their profession. It's not that the director wants to pass time by taking a single scene again and again ,it is a flaw in the argument. He may be doing that for the better and perfect quality of the outcome for the audience without any flaw.

Lastly , the argument states the saved amount by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, will be compensated by paying to the cast and crew for their extra hours spent on the set .This is complete flaw, the time spent in the set might vary and it is not because of the director only , although he is one among the reason, the other reasons are not cited here which may be personal reasons too, He also states the if the saved amount is spent then the movie is virtually assured to be a failure , but it is not like that. The double amount of the saved money can be got from the audience response if the script if extremely good.

Thus, the argument is flawed for the above reasons which can be neglected if we consider the cases stated above . These flaws must be recognized and corrected .