The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

The recommendation puts forward that the first step to the self-knowledge is the rejection of what we are familiar with. If we interpret the word familiar as merely knowing something, then I would higlight that rejecting what we are familiar with might not be the first step towards knowing oneself; it can be step after first but not first.

The rejection of the familiar is very absurd, as then, what we are going to accept; what we are unfamiliar with. Undoubtedly, familiarity helps a lot in diatribing our misconceptions about any thing and internalizing that what we value and want to achieve. For example, the self-knowledge about which profession to choose, e.g. research or field work, can only be achieved once we have practiced some works in both and not just being familiar with it. Then we can reject one and select other. In otherwise case if we have rejected research profession just because we are familar with it and accepted the field work, it might happen that we feel remorseful about decision for not being properly adjustable to the chosen profession working style or environment etc, in later on stages of our life. There could be plenty of reseasons becasue we did not researched deeper before decison making.

The familiarity might be the first step towards better knowing one self. For instance, in every Indo-European religous scriptures, people are invited to gain knowledge and ponder about the world and God's creations, thereby allowing them to not start with rejecting but first to gain the knowledge and then connect it your existence. However, had they been rejecting what was not true of God and themselves, just because those are familiar to be untrue, without deeper research, their faith would not share deeper connection with their intern self, because they are believing precisely what is dictated and not themselves involved in it.

Therefore, without the deeper inspection, it is not possible to be self aware. and mostly, the first step towards it it to be familar with things around and wonder about their existence, and not the rejection as first step to what is familar. Only when the things, on deeper pondering are proved wrong they must be rejected and excised from the self knowledge and right things to be internalized