the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

I agree with the fact that in order to learn something new one must accept the fact that he/she does not anything about new things that one wants to learn.

For example if you copy a text over a text again and again, will give you any clarity of what you had copied but rather will create confusion and dilemma. Similarly, mind also works in similar fashion, you cannot overdo the brain the same things, you need to remove the earlier facts entirely to learn new things.

Also, while learning new things you might think that probably you know that already and you don't pay attention to the new learnings. This is called egoism that develops because of half knowledge thinking that oh it is so easy.

To explain it a better way, we can consider James Watt, who invented that the train can run on steam, definitely nobody knew that it was even possible, we always considered steam as just a source to heaten up the tea kettle, had Watt did not removed the lenses of familiarity, he would not be able make his invention.

Also, one has to understand that sometimes we need to base our new understandings on the previous ones for example when scientist or researchers conducts new experiments, they base it on the earlier facts. Such as, everybody knows that any sort of vehicle runs on a tire but with time we try to make improvements on the tire such as by changing the composition of the tire material or design to apt to the current requirement or circumstances.