The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine says that we should invest in unmanned space fights (considering their succesful rates) instead of manned space flights because it is not only costly but dangerous too. But the author has not consider certain facts of why we should be sending manned space flights and therefore the stated argument is flawed and invalid.

Firstly, manned flight when sent into the space, the astronauts (be it men or women) will bring the valuable physical data/samples (such as soil) that an unmanned flight space cannot bring. We can never compare the human cognitive skills with the Artificial Intelligence(AI), since we the human only has created AI and not the other way round. Therefore, the author must consider his/her opinion based on "real" facts while sharing it with national aeronautics magazine's editor.

Secondly, the author claimed that manned space flights are costlier than the unmanned space flights. The author has not provided any cost figures but vaguely said that one is expensive than other. Every year there is budget allocated for the space and research, so we should understand that if the cost between the two space flight is very narrow or negligble than we cannot just decide on the basis of the money but how the space flight would be beneficial for us, what values would it bring to us because for sending the satellites into the space requires years of scientists research and taxing. Had the author shown some data/evidence to prove his/her statement, then one can consider the pros and cons of the two space flights.

Thirdly, The author claims that the manned flights aren't as successful as compare to unmanned flights, the author must substantiate it with the numbers of successful/unsuccesful flights into the space. Just mere statement cannot help anybody to understand the truthfulness of any fact.

Fourthly, has the "opinionated" author shared his/her qualification while make the statement of giving preference to unmanned space flights to manned flights. Does the author even knows what it actually takes to make a statellite/space flight. Has the author made this general statement based on the news articles he/she has read without any research. The editor of the national aeronautics magazine must consider this aspect before publishing the shared article.

Hence, the editor of a national aeronautics magazine should ask for the evidence for the above stated points to warrant the publication of the letter shared by the author.