The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

I think that the decision taken by the president of Seatown University is bizarre and irrational as they didn't ponder upon any other possibilities of professor retention.

Firstly, one should note the differences between Seatown University and Oceania University in terms of number of professors, their pay, other utilities, area, etc as this will help them understand, if the problems faced the professors of Oceania University are also faced by Seatown University, leading them to quit the university.

Secondly, one should conduct a survey for the professors of Seatown University to find out if the pay or tuition is the issue or if there are any other problems. Because, if there are any other issues, then resolving them would be sufficient.

Thirdly, one has to consider if the university will incur any loses if they provide free tuition to the professors. As it will be detrimental to the university if it goes into loses. They should also think of other alternatives other than free tuition.

On the basis of the results of the above, it will be easier for university to take a decision regarding the free tuition.