Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

I believe "Follow your dreams" is a very commonplace and incomplete statement or advice given to young people.

This statement implies that no matter how many hurdles one has to pass through, one has to always chase their dreams and fulfill them. This is indeed very necessary as it is often proved that one who fulfills their dreams is the happiest. Whereas others who pursue anything other that their dreams are not proved to be the happiest. No matter how successful they are, there is always a void left in them.

Although dreaming big and fulfilling them is of utmost importance, one has to always remember that the type of dreams or goals one sets for themselves is also important. As it not determines their future but also portrays their character. For example, many people dream to become rich, but not many ponder upon what path to take to be rich.

We often hear stories of criminal activities, robbery, smuggling cases in daily basis. The accused people are not criminals or smugglers by birth. These people are one of those people who have taken the wrong path in order to fulfill their goals selfishly.

One should always dream. A person who dreams big, grows big. But it is also necessary that the goals one sets for themselves are worthy. Because pursuing worthy goals makes a person successful and worthy in true sense.

Therefore, I conclude that instead of just setting goals or asking young people to set goals for themselves, more emphasis should be given on setting worthy goals which are not driven by selfishness. This will help them to think and aim right from the starting line itself.