The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Stanley Park is seemingly visited by the fewer people. To increase the visits, the author of the statement believes that equipping Stanley Park with more benches would be the only solution. This conclusion is based on the premise that such a strategy have worked in Carton Park so it would Work in Stanley Park either. To reach the conclusion, the author made several unsupported assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the average 50 cars per day, shows a drastic decline of Stanley Park visitors. As there is no evidence showing that before last month what number of cars placed in the Park’s parking lot, we cannot be certain that any notable decline happened. It is possible that the cars were 51 cars per day and in last month it is 50. Even if there are significantly fewer cars it might be due to other reasons. Another parking lot might offer space for the cars that people place their cars in there rather than using the Park’s parking. If this is the case, there is no decrease to worry about in the first place.

Secondly, assuming that the decline happened, the author assumes that as more than 150 people visit Carlton Park in the heart of business district per day, it shows the success of the park in attracting the people to come to the park. It is possible that as Carlton Park is located in the center of the business district, people merely use the park as a passage way to go to the other parts of the district. It is also possible that the concentration of the population in that district is far more than the population of the people around the Stanley Park that Carlton Park has more visitors.

Finally, even if the benches were the reason why more people go to the Carlton Park it might not work the allocation of more benches might not be efficient for the Stanley Park, as the author wrongly assumes otherwise. We do not know the numbers of the benches, they might be sufficient and there are other reasons why people do not go the Stanley Park. The water ponds may stick. There may be a shortage of the playground for children. The guards might not be polite with the people and so on. If these are the case, with or without benches visitors decline will continue.

In short, the author made a weak argument since it is replete with ambiguous points. As discussed, the answers to the enumerated questions would illustrate the argument. As long as the questions are left unaddressed, the conclusion which is based on such an unclear argument cannot be tenable.