The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is well known in modern business, that in order to achieve the best results, you have to make a strong and well studied research before making a decision. The Movies Galore store obviously has 10 branches, and therfore 10 different locations, which might also mean different conditions, neighborhood and customers. Before the owner of Movies Galore rushes to execute his instructions, copying exactly the same methods applied at one of the branches, he must keep in mind a few things that may apply to a branch but not necessarily to another, also refusing a suggestion of increasing the rental price without studying the decision first is unwise.

Firstly, although it very common for people to be annoyed at any price increase, some might tolerate it to a certain degree, specially at areas with moderate or high income levels. Add to that, the fact that some customers would prefer their favorite store to increase the prices a bit, other than having the whole store shut down. A few methods to make sure this method is viable is through a survey to the customers of shop by each branch, to ask them if they will continue coming to the shop with a slight increase in the rental prices, and explaining that the store might be forced to close otherwise.

Another question that is vital, regarding the store in downtown Marston, which has decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6 pm instead of 9. This might have worked for this branch, but other branches might find that 6 to 9 pm is a time where significant amount of customer come into the store.

Thus, the decision of closing earlier will actually lead to decreasing the profit and increasing the decline.

Each store should keep a record of when the customers are the most during the day along the week, those should be the working hours, other than that, should there be a gap or a long period of time with lack of customers, the store shouldn't be operating then.

Also the reduction of the store's stock by eliminating all movies released more than 5 years ago, this could endanger some stores, as some customers might feel being limited to what is offered. Add the fact there are a signficant amount of people, regardless of their age that enjoy lots of classical or old movies.

There is also a high probability to find a neighborhood with a highly elderly percentage to enjoy mostly older movies. Each store should monitor and keep record of the movies that has been rented and/or requested by its customers, along a reasonable time, for example a month. This is to determine the percentage of people that would be affected by excluding older movies and therefore affecting the profits.

In conclusion, not all stores will give the same effect given the same instructions to work on, a few elements should be kept in mind with respect to the customers, their favorite movies, their possible tolerance for an increase in the rental price, and the hours they prefer to visit the store. With a clear and well studied survey, a decision should be taken for each store.