The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to Dr. Karp's article, the main difference he had with Dr. Field was the way children were reared in the island of Tertia. Dr Karp has mentioned that he interviewed children from a group of islands that included Tertia, he did not mention exactly how many children were from Tertia, it could have been just one child talking about his parents while the other children on Tertia were subjected to being raised by the entire village, thus confirming Dr. Field's observation.

Also, there was a lack of information regarding the type of questions asked to the children or the context of what they actually said about their parents, for instance, a child might have spent the whole interview talking about how he misses his parents and doesn't get enough time with them as he is busy spending time with the entire village that teaches him, should this be the case, then Dr. Field's theory would probably be the correct one.

In addition to all this, Dr. Karp needs to explain the methods that his team of graduate students are carrying and to prove its efficiency and validate its results, and to keep in mind that interview-centered methods depend on the sincerity of the person responding to your questions, Dr. Karp should tackle this issue and prove the truth of the answers and results.

There is no denying that either Dr. Karp or Dr.Field could be right, however both lacked cruical evidence to prove their points, a simple observation of a village nor a general survey and interviews are enough to base a study on, more concrete evidence and information is vital to evaluate their claims.