Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There is no denying that people have different views regarding the responsibility of corporations, and the corporations themselves would like to make the most benefits possible. I personally tend to side with the belif that corporations should care about the environment and the people around them. One of my main reasons for that decision is the fact that only a given corporation truly knows what effect it is having on its surroundings more than anyone else outside, for example a factory that is built close to residential areas, it is aware of how much waste and pollution it produces and should work on protecting the surrounding people from such toxins, otherwise it should relocate.

It would also be wise to keep your neighbors happy, otherwise the people will start complaining, and complaints might rise to suing, and a risk of financial problems and unnecessary time consumption for the corporation and its workers. Showing the people that you care about them will set you off on the right foot, a good reputation might also evolve along a common respect.

The other opinion of people that believe that companies should just worry about operating within the law and focus on maximum profit, triggers a critical issue, exactly how good is the law in protecting the environment and society? maybe it is biased for the money greedy corporations. One thing is sure, is that no man-made law is perfect. It isn't holy, but in fact it may be full of holes and gaps and we tend to see that all the time with lawyers finding gaps in the law to achieve a certain target, even if that target is unethical.

Laws must be respected, but they also need to be reviewed and judged for its fairness and effectivness, nowadays most companies just try to focus on the fastest or the best way to achieve a huge profit without caring about anything else. In some cases, we have seen companies get busted for a huge scandal that they had been well hiding such as VW and how their cars weren't emitting the right amount of carbon dioxide that they claimed to have. The law was there to punish them, but it wasn't there to protect the people in the first place as the company's main focus was to manipulate with it rather than to care for the environment and people's health.

In conclusion, It is certainly important to have laws for corporations to work within its limits, however it would be more effective and better for corporations to have some responsibility to help the environment, and help balance things a bit, raising the corporations' conscience towards the people in order to avoid future problems and damage.