The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this memorandum written by the president of the Humana University, he talks about promoting online degree programs to increase overall enrollment and solve budget related problems. To strengthen his argument he cites example of nearby Omni University, which has got significant increase in enrollment through online programs and managed to decrease the expenses of classroom budget. He also, talks about the decreased rate of enrollment at Humana and difficulties in maintaining budget for dormitory and classrooms. In my opinion the arguments presented by the president are weak and too quixotic.

Firstly, the president wrongly relates Omni University with Humana. He never mentions the courses provided by both universities. To provide strength to his arguments, he must cite any surveys from acceptable sources. Maybe, the Omni provides totally different courses in degree than that of Humana. Unless and until the overall intake and subjects are provided, we cannot conclude anything.

Secondly, he unconvincingly thinks that increment for a short period is enough to decide. Maybe, the data should be gathered for little extra time period. The success gained by Omni may not last long. Like, some of the students might only have enrolled to check the new method of education.

Thirdly, the president doesn't account the other facilities provided by university. Maybe the increment in the enrollment is the result of better reputation of Omni. For an example, Omni may have hired quality faculties and professors. The management of Omni may have planned better to bring popularity.

Fourthly, the president does not talk about difficulties to setting up the online degree program. Like, Humana will have to set up new systems and architecture for new courses. Maybe, the current teaching staff is not familiar with new style of education. In such cases the program would badly fail.

In sum, I believe that the arguments presented by the president are not only weak but also optimistic. He should first of all gather data on from a larger background. Maybe, the surveys talking about online enrollment over the country or large region can give better idea. Also, immediately moving over to internet based system may not work. First of all, enough planning and set ups should be done. Up to that, the idea presented by the president remains dubious and unacceptable.