Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education, which is one of the important policies in a nation, can shape the youth for next generation. The statement claims that the formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. However, I totally disagree with the argument based on two following reasons.

First of all, some people may argue that the formal education in school trains students to fit in society as a group, and this training would restrain their spirits and minds. Nevertheless, fitting in the group does not imply to limit people's imagination and behavior. To be specific, the lessons in school are designed for group cooperation, and students can learn to work with others. From a British research, the learning process of school in early age can help students to fit in society for their future life. Furthermore, a group of people can implement a large scale of project rather than limit in individual based. This is the reason why I refute that the argument of teamwork directly leads to retrain students' thinking.

More important of all, the formal education enables us to think independently and critically, which can set our minds and spirits free. It is the experiments in science class teach us how to verify the fact steps by steps, and it is the debating activities in society class that inspire us to analyze the social issues.

For example, perhaps for those who do not have a change to accept formal education, they may accept the entire thing they receive from news, because they do not have any experience from classes to analyze the "facts". Or maybe they would trust all of the advertisements for health related products since they do not understand how to verify the information from searching and studying research. Thus, education can help students improve their ability to think rather than restrain their mind.

In summary, from above mentioned, education can equip us the ability to cooperate with others and think independently, since I strongly disagree with the claim from the original arguments.