Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

The statement put a negative attitude to the relationship between formal education and spiritual freedom. But we have to define the term ‘freedom’ before we delve into this arbitrary question. Freedom is an act without any restraint. Therefore, minds and spirits free means to think or to feel without any limitations, thus creativity and free thinking. Then why the formal education will restrain those characteristic of freedom? What pattern of such education could result in detrimental effect to our creativity which marks the human species, or harmful to free thinking which laid the foundation to our society?

Formal education have standardized material. This kind of uniformity can effectively instill students a great amount of knowledge within short period of time systematically. It is mind-blowing that students are able to learn the knowledge of past 5000 years in just around 20 years. With this uniformity, this system is capable of training millions of educated people, doctors, lawyers, engineers, scholars, and so on from all over on the globe. It is a miracle in human history that none of our ancestor have ever done as such. And a point worth mentioning, the creation of school, allow kids to learn in the classroom with others. This would speed up the process of socialization as kids communicate, interact, and learn to cooperate with one another. The most important of all, it is cheap. Education was expensive, and it was designed primary for the aristocracy, who are more educated and rich and affordable to buy books, hire private teachers, or send their children to private schools. Therefore, it seems to be a bless from formal education as to modernized society.

However, despite the fact that it helps in educating lots of people, it does kill our creativity. The standardized material implies that there is a set group of knowledge worth learning for everybody. Maybe this is true, but it may be more crucial to tell students there are much more worth to learn beyond the range covered by textbooks. And ignite their passion to the knowledge, so that they will learn for themselves even after graduation. One of the purposes of education is to teach students to learn and think. Or chances are that students will just regurgitate it on the test and throw them away after the test. Except from learning a set group of fact, this rigid pattern of formal education fail in encouraging students to ask questions. Asking questions means to stir one’s own brain in order to approach to a solution, and that is the process where creativity is generated. Creativity is the source for innovations, which basically construct our world. Hence, the rigid education turns out not making advances in foster creativity but restrain it.

In terms of free thinking, it is better to start with the opposite – brainwashing. You might ask how could an education system not teaching our kids, but even clamping down on their thought! Indeed, the system is not doing it obviously but in a subtle way. Since the school education is all standardized, it doesn’t encourage inquiries. Time after time, students get accustomed to sit and wait for answer, even if they have question in their mind, the usual silence in the class that has build in for a long time will deter them from asking. Besides that, what if they asked a silly question? Will my friends despise me if I ask such an easy question? School is like a small communal society, where students learn not only from the books but also the behaviors of others. If no one is asking, they might think it is not allowed or not welcomed to ask, even though that is the exact place they should ask and learn from their mistakes. It is sort of brainwashing where it sets a rule upon individual will by collective will. Therefore, students are becoming groups of drone, less diverse in personality, containing lots of fact but wouldn’t dare to think outside of the box.

To sum up, formal education have malign effect to our mind for several reasons. The standardized and rigid material is repercussion to the students imagination and creativity, since it can not encourage them to ask questions or learn for themselves but merely offer lots of fact. Furthermore, school system is making it worse because it induces a collective will of fear of asking. If it is not cultivating creativity and free thinking, or even making it worse, school is not a place to feel freedom.