Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated

The statement indicates that in order for a city to protect their culture the sufficient amount of financial is necessary. The statement also underly an assumption that it seems by funding the city, the right of village people will be sacrificed because they also pay the tax but can’t enjoy the same amount of resource. However, it is justifiable within the context of protecting culture, since cities usually play its special roles as the cultural center of a country, in order to preserve one’s own culture, both new and old, financial factor is definitely an important issue, and thus contribution from every people of a nation is necessary.

Undoubtedly, cities usually have more funds and other resources to protect the culture from extinction. For example, in a big city such as London, New York, have many big museum preserve numerous valuable art, paintings, and historical collections. Such facilities are normally not available in a village. As a matter of fact, in a city, there are literally more people will use those facilities and thus generate enough finance to sustain. In addition, those cultural traditions can be protected more effectively since institutions and people in big cities have more professional knowledge as they are more likely to be well-educated.

Compare to bucolic villages, a culture of a city is more dynamic and need more protection. It is not to say the culture of a rural area is not important as a city. Both cultures of city and village are equally valuable, but the preservation of city culture is more urgent. There are more and more people living in big cities, so cultures of big cities are changing rapidly. Besides, sometimes in order to accommodate more people, it’s possible that government destroys an old house and their cultural heritage. For instance, Beijing, the capital of China throughout a long history, however, destroyed most of their ancient old houses and build skyscrapers. Afterward, the city lost its special eastern atmosphere completely.

In conclusion, protecting one’s own culture is a responsibility for every individual. However, it’s essentially not possible to finance a village to protect their culture, since cities are usually with more educated people and have sufficient amount of money to construct or maintain expensive facilities. Moreover, cultures of cities are more dynamic that it requires those facilities more imperative than villages.