The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In d

The statement that the general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievement of its rulers, artists or scientist is absolutely right. A nation is called 'nation' because of its collective population, not any individual person. So, a nation's greatness greatly depends on the general welfare of common people.

There are many nation in the world, which is not considered as great just because there common people are not in great condition. For instance, from several decades North Korea' s leader developing nuclear bombs, while his own population is starving and dying. For those reasons, we don't consider a great one. Another such example is, Saudi Arabia, a nation with corrupted leaders, poor environmental conditions, oil-rich country, but general people are suffering and they are on war with Yemen for no good reason.

GDP is the common indicator of a countries greatness in a greater sense. It indicates that the countries population is doing great. A countries welfare largely depends on its health care, law enforcement, development projects, democracy and many other things. Without those such basic needs, a country's welfare can hardly depend on individual rulers, artists or scientists.

The common indication of a nation by the historian is how many countries they colonized. A sizable army and military, as well as technological supremacy, are among the common characteristics of powerful nations. However, this also translates in big military expenses, which is collected from its citizens. The soviet union is an example of that. Because of their former larger military, often they failed to provide basic needs to their citizens, which eventually caused collapses soviet union.

In the last century, Great Britain was renown for their advancement in science. With the help of science, there is an industrial revolution in Britain, which caused nothing but 16-hour mandatory labor, child labor and so on. A scientist can only invent industrial machineries, but can't control internal corruption.

Though a great leader, artist or scientist can bring some great achievements but a nation's greatness only depends on its general welfare.