The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The statement says that a nation's greatness is determined more by the welfare of its people than the achievements of its few

individual entities. Geniuses and great personalities are born at random places in the world. Some are born in very poor countries and some in rich ones. Where ever they are, what matters most are opportunities they are provided with to showcase their ingenuity.

We have seen people like Ramanujam, a genius mathematician and a child prodigy who made several contributions to the field with no formal education and coming from a poor family. The fact that he is remembered even today is because he was given some opportunities by chance which led him publish his works. Now, imagine the sheer number of people like him who are not given any platform to showcase their skills. The driving factors that contribute to provide such opportunities depends on various factors, one of which is a good standard of living that every nation should strive for.

I classify the people in to four types. First is the person who is talented and uses it. Second is person who is talented and does not take advantage of it. Third is the person who is not talented and tries to build it. And fourth is the person who is not talented and does not even try to inculcate it even if there are demanding circumstances. The world needs more of the third type of people. In any of the scenarios, what is more important is the avenue where the people can demonstrate their talent.

This is where general welfare of a nation comes in to picture. Welfare of the people makes sure that sufficient foundation is provided to help them make achievements of their own thereby contributing to the overall greatness of the nation.

A nation is always represented by its people not by some group of people in power. If the latter is the case the group of people should form a separate nation with just themselves boosting their own nation welfare chart.