Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In any field or enterprise, revitalization is vital. Things that are learned in the current generation must be passed on to the next blooming one to ensure a bright and thriving future.

Now coming to the main claim, in some disciplines like math and physics, most of the research output culminates between 20's and 30's. In contrary, people in the fields like politics and business tend to improve with age as these require a considerable amount of practice and experience.

Well, it is important for those in any position to step down and let the new comers take over. The exact duration for which the people should stay in power varies. In some scenarios, it is not always possible to find a replacement for the person in power. In some cases, the efficacy of the leadership might decline with the time as the tasks seem like a trite after a period of time and people begin to loose interest which is detrimental to bot the enterprise and to the career of the person. In such cases it is inevitable to change the leadership in some time period. This time period could be a couple of months of a senator at school to several years of minister's/president's term. Nevertheless, people have their own way of choosing a leader that best delivers their interests and this need not be supervised. We have seen some countries with maximum upper bound for a presidential term and others with indefinite term.