The goal of politics should not be the pursuit of an ideal, but rather the search for common ground and reasonable consensus.

The author of the issue highlights that leaders in any given nation should keep track of common ground and reasonable consensus than elusive ideal. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. However, the popular salient to which I vehemently cling is that prosperity of the nation should be the first priority of politics in the society owing to the fact that it helps a society push forward and flourished. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, politics in any society play a consequential role owing to the fact that the destiny of the society is in their hands. Not only can they help the society make a progress day in day out but also they can bend over backward and try hard to build a thriving society. Broadly speaking, common grounds and reasonable consensus will provide an opportunity for the society not falling behind owing to the fact that they are the major duty of the politics to share their ideas and come to an agreement. As a tangible example, when a country is in crisis or is invaded by foreigners, it is incumbent upon politics to follow reasonable grounds and consensus to save the country and repel any threat. So, it is necessarily needed to make sound decisions and come to an agreement to choose the best way. To elucidate more on this issue, politics should be loyal to their country and put their efforts so as to make a prosperous country. In this way, not only can people trust them but also people could encourage them to keep on their career successfully.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is that if politics follow common ground and reasonable consensus, indeed, they spread trustworthy and integrity throughout the society. If we take a minute to ponder over it, politics should take people's ideas and opinions into consideration in order to gain respect. In fact, without the support of people, hardly can politics make a progress. So, although people's ideas might not be applicable and meticulous, at least people will trust politics in any realm. The willingness and ability to trust people that you look up is absolutely essential for you to perform at your very best. It can be deduced from a combination of coverage and depth of detail that with trustworthy and integrity you have nothing to hide, so, you have nothing to fear. This attitude not only can help people broaden their horizon but also can entice politics to work honestly and take veracity, fidelity, aspiration, and expectation into account.

However, what was alluded to above can't be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside the innumerable benefits, it has, indisputably, follow common grounds and reasonable consensus might not always work properly. In fact, politics need to become familiar with various ideas and opinions in order to be able to measure every positive and negative consequence of a situation. So, elusive ideal could foster disagreements and help politics to become acquainted with myriads of ideas. In this case, politics will be able to make right decisions by taking any condition into account. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds than can lend weight to my personal perspective.