Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a society, people select a government to carry out the necessary duties on behalf of them and then, the government select the officials to bring justice to the society and carry out the work that require to be done to built a better society. The prompt suggest that the government officials should rely on their own judgment than blindly follow the people’s wish. I strongly agree with the given prompt that government officials or any other peoples who are in a position of power should rely on himself or herself to make a decision for better good.

While we live in a time where unquestioningly follow the will of upper hand seems beneficials and consider the good judgment, the morality of the people should not die. People in the power position should take the responsibility of his position and carry out his or her work, and it should be the work ethics of the people in society specially for an government official. A government official is not like any other person in society who work solely for him, he has to consider the consequences of his decisions and the country’s ethics and culture, he must not take any decision haphazardly or under the pressure of superiors. It is understandable that the culture and ethics of a country can influence his decisions but it is not understandable why his decisions was not correct for the person who seeks justice. For example, if a police officer caught a person for violating the traffic by bumping the car next to it which left a mere scrach, it is not right to put him jail because the damaged car owner want him in jail or make him pay for the broken mirror which was not broken in this accident. The point is the officer must thoroughly examine the case before making any decision and not only hear one side or the popular opinion.

It is highly possible that people want justice but government officials are not capable of hearing it out or carry it out because of the corrupt government. But it a different scenario, it is a play of morality and who are honest in duty for the very people they are assigned to sere. While it is necessary to hear out the people they serve but they must have sound judgement of the case they are judging. For example, if a judge rule in favor of a corrupt government ignoring the proof and the opinion of people, it is simply the degradation of the position he is serving, nothing more.

Government officials are people like us and it is very much possible to affect by the opinion people gave in any case but it’s the job requirement of the officials to use their own judgements in every government task they do. The people opinion may be rife with assumptions but a government officials should rely on the facts he have seen and made conclusive assumptions from the facts.