There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, the author explains how the relaxed pace of life in small town promotes better health and longevity than the hectic pace of life in big cities. While it is understandable that the residents of the town ‘Leeville’ has better health and living a long healthy life, the argument is full of rife and holes that needed further explanation. To strength his or her proposed explanation and give a cogent conclusion, the author must provide at least three evidence that support his conclusion.

First of all, the author assumes that as the businesses in the Leeville report fewer days of sick taken by individual workers than Masonton, thus people in Leeville must be all healthy. There is a possibility that people in Leeville do not need to take extra sick day because they live close to there work place or the work shedeule is not as hectic as the Masonton’s. furthermore, the author does not give any explanation of his evidence that whether the evidence is how much reliable or representative of the actual scenario. There may be one or two days difference in the average sick day or may be small town business does not report the sick day as the big town people do. The point is, the author only give us his assumption not the representative data of his evidence. The author need to provide the reliable and honest evidence to hold his argument.

Secondly, the author gives another piece of information that Leeville has only one physician per thousand residents while Masonton has five per thousands. Though the author does not provide the actual population of the two towns and whether how much this towns are comparable to each other, he gives information that Manston has more physician than Leeville. The number of physician are not given in the argument but it may be possible that all the complex medical treatment procedure are done in the Masonton. People from the near towns come to Mansonton for it’s better medical facilities and this town has some big hospitals for all kind of treatment while Leeville’s physician only treat mild cases where least medical care is required and refer the pataient of serious illness to Mansonton.

Thirdly, the author explains his position by providing the average age of Leeville residents and comparing with the Mansonton’s residents average age. While it is possible that the residents of Leeville has higher age than Mansonton, it alone does not solve the confusion why author concludes that life of Leeville is relaxed than Mansonton’s. there is a possibility that people of big cities are bored of hectic life and move to small town like Leeville after retirement which explains why the average age of Leeville is higher.

Town of Leeville may have better life quality but it alone does not validate the author conclusion why Leeville has relaxed pace of life promote better health and longitivity. There have many possible explanation to refute the author proposed explanation which required further clarification.