Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Problems are an inexorable part of society, which in lieu of proper redressal by the government can creat extensive survival impediments for the society as a whole.

The prompt recommends that the government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. In my opinion, I completely agree with the prompt because of the following reasons.

In my belief, the problems that persist today are the main causes of the problems that will exist tomorrow. These problems act as harbinger of imminent dangers that may arise in future and need immediate redressal. Societal issue, for example, low gender ratios persists even today in countries like India, and other parts of the world such as middle east. These issues require immediate action so as to ensure that the society doesn't collapse. Women empowerment and programs intended at increasing literacy rates and participation of women in political representation can be regarded as active solutions for these imminent disasters.

The more crucial reason for the government to focus on existing problems ignoring future issues is the budget constraint. Governments usually have limited budgets for the allotment of money to solve societal problems. At the time of dilemma between choosing immediate and future problems for allotment of money, the government should always select the immediate issues in hand due to the fact these problems are an active part of the people's life. Keeping in mind the tax that the population is paying, instills a lot of expectation in the people that their problems would be eliminated.

However, it is important to note that some societal issue may be latent in its existence but can create a huge predicament for the society in future and hence the government as well as the population should not completely ignore these issues. Taking the example of ozone hole over the arctic. This particular problem does not play a very active part in the everyday lives of people but if left ignored, it can create huge risk on the existence of humankind or life as a whole on planet Earth. The goverments must collaborate on these kind of issues at a global level to counter them effectively. Sometimes these issues may be very apparent as well but the government as well as the people ignore them on the face value of it as they might not affect their daily, at least for the time being. The important point here is that such problems must also not be ignored completely

From the above mentioned points we can conclude that the issue mentioned in the prompt does not have straightforward answer to it rather it is important to look at this issue from both sides to get a comprehensive understanding of the same. Hence, the government should focus more on the issues in hand, as this may also help them hinder future issues that could arise. But, as we discussed some issue which require great attention can be imperceptible in its inchoate stages of existence, and hence the government should be well aware of these kind of issue as well to save the world from insidious disasters.