To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Ancient cities, along with their architectural marvels, port infrastructure, sewage systems, cuisine etc can tell a lot about the people who have been living there and also about the the current population. The prompt recommends that, in order the understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. In my opinion, I mostly support this argument as we can see that the cities along with their infrastructure, cuisine, artifacts and the town planning mechanism can always help to know more about the society as a whole.

The sophistication with which the towns are planned can help us better understand about how technologically advanced the society actually is. Taking as well known city for example such as Dubai, the marvelous and enormously heighted skyscrapers, beautifully constructed roads, cleanliness and abundance of transportation system can help us understand how technologically advanced the society is and how much of intellectual and economic effort has been put in by city dwellers to convert this city from a barren desert to one of the most luxurious exotic location of the world that it is today. The people of Dubai have always strived for advancement and have always opened arms for any kind of developments.

Ancient cities, such as Harappa and Mohenjo Daro, have always been known for their efficient town planning and excellent sewage disposal infrastructure, which can tell us aa lot about how advanced the society was with respect to the time it belongs to. The artifacts, coinage, jewelry found from archeological excavations tell us about their adroitness at developing artistic masterpieces. The archeological findings also tell us about how well developed the society was with respect to trade, legal system, military etc. This tells us about the how organized and development oriented society existed during that era.

Taking examples from modern Indian cities such as Delhi, Lucknow, Jaipur etc which have predominantly been Mughal dominations during the medieval period. The Mughal Architecture visible through the city in the prominent buildings such as Red Fort, India Gate, Rashtrapati Bhavan, Taj Mahal ,in Agra, are premier examples of Mughal influence on ancient Indian infrastructure. The cuisine of Lucknow is predominantly Mughal in its attribute. Keeping in mind the fact that majority of the population being vegetarian Hindu, there is a lot of linking and glut for Mughal cuisine in Lucknow. This shows the historical roots of the society and how it has managed to thrive the alien culture tells us about the religious and sentimental tolerance of the society as whole.

Some will definitely argue that the conclusions about the society through its cities is purely an assumption based evaluation. But, In my opinion these assumptions are well warranted and have a logical and chronological backing which can easily defend its authenticity. Cities are a product of the efforts of its society as a whole.