Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people are of belief that we must be farsighted, so as to obtain targeted goals and thus, should aim for solving future problems. The prompt attempt to address this issue by proposing that government must focus on solving future problems rather than focusing upon present scenario. However, I mostly disagree with this notion and believe that the cardinal focus of the government should be on mitigating present difficulties because of following two reasons. Nonetheless, I do concede in a few situations that aiming on solving future problems may be fruitful.

To embark, the primary role of government is to get focused upon contemporary issues because the government should give priority to the present needs and demands of public. Without fulfilling the present demands of the public, a nation cannot progress towards development. For instance, North Korean government does not focus on the present problems of their people like food insecurity, diseases and poverty, etc. As a result, the country has not been able to uplift their development. In addition, if government does not focus on the present issues like Covid-19 pandemic, the virus will make the darkest side of our future. So, there are many examples that resulted a bitter future on neglecting present problems.

The future outcome is based upon the present contributions. For instance, if the government focus upon solving health problems of the situation, this will lead to develop healthier and energetic manpower for the country. For example, the government if does not formulate and implement a strict rules and regulations against rapist, subsequently the rape cases in the country will increase relentlessly. Hence, it is advisable for government to focus on the present problems.

However, the government should focus on the future plans and policies regarding future problems. For instance, climate change is suspected to bring many adverse consequences in near future. For which many of the countries and organizations are working for saving the future. Similarly, many governments are investing upon renewable sources of energy for saving non-renewable sources like petrolium products and mine.

To sum up, though some people find that it is reasonable for governments to focus on future problems, I suggest to focus upon present scenario and problems.