Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A government is the apex institution of any country, responsible for taking critical decisions, analysis of situations and implementation of solutions in order to make life easier for their citizens. The present as well as the future of any nation solely rests on the planning and actions of its government. The anecdote saying "Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future." is partly true to some extent, although can be challenged based on a few premises. I mostly agree with the argument and shall try to present a couple of facts in its favour, in addition to a drawback that has been discussed in the first instance.

Although immediate problems are much more visible than the anticipated ones, people presume that addressing them should be the topmost priority. However, most of the common mass fail to realize the underlying importance of contemplating on and dealing with problems that can crop up in the near future. Let us take the example of a scenario where a country is affected badly by flood. A lot of people have been rendered homeless. There is starvation and poverty everywhere. People would surely expect the government to intervene and come up with immediate solutions. It may so happen that one of the neighbouring countries would offer temporary help on the premise of a long term contract which shall hamper the trade balance of the country for years to come. In such a situation, the government not receiving help may infuriate the suffering mass, result in huge protest and exaceberate the situation. However, the government should be wise enoguh to opt for a solution which would improve the current situation and not ruin its future. A way of tackling such situations may be to raise funds within the country; seeking demand from the richer section of the population. It is thus essential for the state to correctly project the future problems while trying to deal with problems of today.

In case of dire situations, a governments correct planning plays a vital role to drag a state out of the problemmatic pithole. Let us consider a situation where a country is facing huge reduction in demand as a result of inflation. People have lost their jobs, prices of goods have been rising and the market seems to have made its way into chronic depression. The onus of draggig the country out of this state of poverty now relies on the government- its effective policy planning and implementation. the government shall thus consider immediatie pumping of money into the economy to save the state from moving into even worse days. Yes, as a result the prices of goods may rise even further in future. But tackling that rpoblem would be a new task again.In these sort of cases, solving an immediate problem becomes an essential agenda; the trade off between furute and present truns into a dormant one.

Solving issues of today, may sometimes, have spill over effects on the problems of tomorrow. In other words, addressing short term problems can pave to the pathway of solving long term effects. If we imagine a scenario where the government is in a dilemma of allocating money to creation of effective roadways and communication systems (short term problems) versus using the money to create more jobs in the private sector to reduce unemployment(long term problems); making effective roadways shall lead to generation of human capital which shall increase employment in the long run. There would be immediate rise in trade and commerece as well as make life easier for commuters- thus addressing both long term and short term problems. Thus, in certain conditions, the gateway to resolving the humonguos problems of tomorrow may start with adressing the problems of today.

In conclusion, I would like to mention that the topic revolves around a tradeoff which economists have struggled to solve for years, now. The effective solution to these kinds of situation rests completely on the exact nature of the condition rather than pre-specified generalizations. There shall be proponents of both sides while dealing with such issues. Hence, I would like to wrap up this discussion assuming that governments these days are well equipped with policy makers who shall be able to correctly assess the situation- juggling between current problems and future problems.