Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research ad development lay the foundation for a stronger and more powerful nation of tomorrow. In this era, where science and technology has made such unprecendented exponential progress over the last fifty or hundred years, nations have found a newer way of announcing their supremacy over others-through advancement in fields of research and development. I strongly agree with the view that governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development, as supported through valid arguments in the paragraphs to follow. This short communication shall try to justify the nuances and advenatages of an enriching research environment provided by the government.

It is often said that 'necessity is the mother of all inventions'. In the light of this statement, it is important to understand that inventions take place mostly as a solution to some underlying problem. Such situations occur the most in the face of crisis and unrest. Let us take the example of World Wars. It was during this period that the invention of so many machinery was made possible. The era had seen a gigantic amount of research-work in nuclear sciences. Although posed as a menace to mankind, science had evolved manifold times during this era through persistent study in a particular area. Coming to the main point of this discussion, it is essential to note that during these times of wars, government used to exercise the minimum restrictions possible in the fields of research. Much to the contrary, research was put on the state's priority as only monumental pathbreaking discoveries could lead to an edge of a fighting side over its counterpart. Thus, this period has been an example for the fact that minimum government intervention and least restrictions had proven positive externalities in discovery of new technologies.

Capitalist economists strongly propagate the notion of least government intervention for an efficient functioning of the market. The same logic can be monotonically stretched to the vast area of research and development as well. Let us take the condition where a particular top notch research has to undergo several protocols fixed by the government before it is approved. The time required for this, although apparently insignificant as compared to that devoted for the actual work, is large enough for the scientists to lose their motivation. As a result of trying conditions, it is possible for the researchers to underperform in the given conditions to come up with worse, even unconsiderable outcomes. It can thus be concluded that 'red-taping' by the government leads to loss of precision over time.

Finally, in a time constrained environment, where researches are bound to yield a strong, applicable outcome, government should enforce as little restrictions as possible, in order to let the work succeed. For example, in the present situation of the Covid-19 pandemic, we have all acknowledged the world in an apparent race to come up with vaccines as fast as possible. All the biomedical companies across the globe have tried several methods to produce results in a short span of time. Even the common mass have been waiting eagerly for the innoculation process to start. Now, any typical vaccine development process takes a good ten years to come into action-provided all protocols are correctly followed. However, in conditions of emergency, following all these standardized proccesses would mean addtional harm. The government, is therefore, bound to let the sceintists take their own call and place as fewer restrictions as possible.

Proponents against the afforementioned argument may counter these points stating that a certain degree of control should be enforced to ensure that science does not turn out to be a bane. But, does that not lead to the reduction of the efficiency of the system? By the end of the day, we all must agree that researches at the highest level are conducted by well trained professionals; and they themselves take huge responsibility to ensure the smooth functioning of their inventions. Thus, in such issues, government must refrain from imposing too many restrictions, lest it may topple down the entire system.