The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the passage concludes that "A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise." He presents a few reasons to justify his thought proccess and plans to set up a jazz music club. Though the business plan seems to be quite reasonable and convincing in the first glance, a deeper inspection of the ideas and careful scrutiny of the situation leads us to believe that the plan is laid on the premise of a few weak assumptions, three of which are discussed below.

Firstly, the author states that the nearest Jazz club in Monroe is 65 miles away- through which he assumes that he would have the local market all to himself. However, he is neglecting a very important assumption. Economists often refute a bussiness plan stating that a newly set up venture, however lucrative and promising as it may seem, can be rendered unprofitable, if there already exisits a similar business. The crux of the situation being, people of Monroe who have been visiting the already functional Jazz club for years now, are likely to be loyal towards thei tastes and preferences. Hence, however far the club may be, the consumers may choose it over the newly built one.

Secondly, the author goes on to say that "jazz is extremely popular in Monroe". He draws the evidence of a highly successful annual jazz festival of the last summer, well known jazz musicians being residents of Monroe and highest rated radio program of Monroe being 'Jazz Nightly'. While all these may sound to be quite convincing to set up a new business, each one can be challenged through a weak assumption. It can be possible that the last year's annual Jazz festival turned out to be superhit becasue it was organized in the middle of a holiday season. It can also be possible that people who had attended the festival last year would have different plans in the current one. Also the fact that reputed Jazz musicians reside in Monroe can turn into a bane rather than a boon. Since they are already reputed, it can be assumed that they already work somewhere- meaning that the C-note would have to hire inexperienced Jazz players, which would mean cut throat competition faced from the market. Lastly, since a daily radio show hosts "Jazz Nighlty" on every weeknight, people would prefer to be glued to the program from their home, rather than venturing out and spending money on a newly opened Jazz club. The main takeaway from the situation is the the city of Monroe already has well acclaimed set up for the common mass to enjoy Jazz music- setting up a new bussiness would mean challenging a clearly superior counterpart on the basis of unrealistic optimism.

Thirdly, the author presents a statistical data which says that "the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment." Again it is likely to be noted that a Jazz fan would continue to spend approximately $ 1000 even in years to come. A consumer is unlikely to allocate more moey from his budget set just to encourage a new bussiness. Since the $1000 is allocated on already operating shows and events, they would not want to move away from their previous choices. Thus, although the statistic is attractive enough, such a behaviour from the customers is sure to alleviate profits generated.

In conclusion, it shall be taken intoaccount that although the author has tried hard to substantiate his idea, a thorough analysis of the afforemetioned facotrs render the plan unimplementable. Thus, the bussiness model shall need more evidences, a thorough survey from the customers and a carefully designed market research. Only then can such a plan be transformed into a success.