Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A government has many functions and one of them is to promote the well-being of the society by solving all kinds of problems in a wide range of scale and field, such as natural disasters, welfare, civil rights, education and racial conflicts. Some of the problems are immediate problems of today and others are anticipated problems of the future. Whether a problem should be focused on solving does not depend on the relative time but on the outcome— the overall optimal benefits. Thus, I disagree with the claim.

Some immediate problems require urgent solutions to minimize losses. Take SARS for instance, an atypical and highly contagious disease broke out in 2003 and killed 774 people. The virus is highly contagious and fatal without treatment. Resulting from the immediate and efficient response, the virus was well controlled in late June and eliminated by mid-August. If the government had not dealt with it instantly, more people would have died or spread the virus globally threatening many other lives. Immediate problems, like SARS, need to be focused on solving.

However, some immediate problems do not cause great loss to a people, and the government should focus on other vital problems first. For Example, people are unhappy with the current hourly wage and signing a pentation demanding a higher wage. In this case, the issue is unlikely to cause riots or violent protests. If needed, it could give way to other emergent problems such as the Ferguson Incident in Saint Louis, which threatened many people’s safety and human rights.

Also, governments should focus on some anticipated problems so as to avoid or mitigate the misfortune in the future. Very often, predicted problems, if they are not taken care of today, will become the immediate problems tomorrow which can cause a great loss. Take The Three Gorges Project in China for example, the Chinese government has been warned about the predicted problems by scientists and environmentalists; however, the Chinese government still went on and built the Three Gorges Dam without responding to the possible problems. As a result, the dam today has caused a lot of urgent problems such as landslides, water pollution, irrigation, flood, and allocation of immigrants. The ecosystems, environment and people in those areas have been tremendously affected negatively or harmed. The disaster could have been avoided or mollified if the Chinese government had not overlooked the possible problems.

In conclusion, when a government decided what problems should be focused on solving, the time of a problem—today or future—is not the main factor to be considered; rather, the outcome of solving certain problems in different situations matters.