Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The statement states that, government should invest same in art as they do in the military. While that type of assertion may have value from a normative standpoint, in deeper analysis, I found that assertion indefensible. There are situations when national security needs to be more focused, sometimes culture need to be flourished and that is why, I think investment should not be done by comparison with each other, rather should be done depending on necessity.

Military force strength is one of the benchmark of a nation's strength in warfare and in international community. It is true that, that department needs to be invested in a large amount compared to others for the purpose of national security. But that investment is justified in a large way, as national security is the prime factor for a nation's independence and securing it's borderline. Usually government invest a large amount to strengthen military force, which is not only important for nation's strength in warfare but also for nation's intelligence, science, innovation, developments. Like in Bangladesh, in many of the countries, military force is engaged in national infrastructural development, national security intelligence, which are some of the most important issues to be focused on in the present world to survive as a free and developing country.

On the other hand, art is a sector which should be focused on to increase the life standard of the people of a nation. Appreciation of arts can be done by investing in arts gallery, museum, cultural programs, appreciating people engaged in cultural activities like, music, painting, architecture. Art is the thing that can fulfill the thirst of a human mind. Investing in art can decrease unemployment problem by engaging people in cultural activities which worked as a panacea during great depression, when the investment in art by the government alleviated the suffering in a great extent.

However, both art and military are important for a country to flourish and one can not be compared with another and can not be substituted in place of another. Funding arts can enhance the standard of spiritual quality, on the other hand, funding in military can enhance the nation's standing in case of power. There can be situations like war, when investment in military can be more important that investment in arts and vice versa. Like, in WWII, if not USA invested in military rather on arts, today they would not be the prime world power.

So, to conclude, it is evident that, investment in both of the field is important and we can not compare them. Both arts and military plays an indispensable role for a nation, that both of them should be invested properly depending on necessity.