Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I agree that, corporation should focus the social and environmental problems and promote well being of the societies in which they operate.

Corporations operating in a environment are doing business using the resource of that society and environment and that is why it becomes a moral obligation for them to return something beneficial to that society. Under that corporate social responsibility, corporations should promote the well being of the society, act that would substantiate the social growth, identify social problems and provide as much solution as possible. As the people of the society are the customer and thus the driving force of a corporation, that is why ensuring better condition for those people, will also ensure a better strategic position for operating business in that area. Well being of the society strengthen the position of the organization both from the business strategy and moral point of view.

On the other hand, if the corporations only focus on profit, and thus make as much money as possible, initially that may seem more realistic and beneficial for their growth, as long as they are not violating any law. But the problem is that, in the long run, that type of attitude acts as a curse for the future development. Corporations focusing on only profit oriented schemes, at one time become glutton, and thus the people of the region where they are operating, feel anathema for them. Obviously, those who focuses on their the social responsibilities and environment related problems would get an edge over those corporations who do not. In today's competitive market, customers are more conscious about their right and that is why, when someone focuses on their problems will get an advantages.

So, to conclude, it is evident that, corporations should focus on the problems like social and environment problems, at least to the areas where they are operating, as it their responsibility to return some in back from where they are gleaning their profit. To operate only by law and thus ignoring those problems would make them suffer in the long run as people are being more and more conscious day by day.