The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum of the business manager attempts to bridge a strong negative correlation between the less coverage of local and weather news and increase in profit. The conclusion of the statement based on the premises that, local businesses advertisements canceled contracts with the television station and number of complaints regarding the local and weather news increased because of that less coverage on local and weather news. However, in deeper analysis, it is evident that, certain relevent aspects have not taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw in the argument is that, the manager simply asserts that, number of complaints regarding local and weather news were more than other type of complaints, but did not clarify the condition before the change in coverage time. Was it before the change in coverage time in local news, the proportion of complaints smaller than it is now? If so, what typer of complaints are they receiving? Is it regarding the lack of coverage or something else? Without answering those questions, the manager can not specifically assert that, the lack of coverage time in local and weather news is the reason of those incidents.

Another problem in the statement is that, the manager asserts, local businesses advertisements during the late night news program have canceled their contracts with the station and the reason is also the lack of coverage. But the manager failed to provide any specific reason, why local advertising farms are canceling their contracts. Is it really for the lack of coverage or some other issues? There can be situation like, people are being more interested in day time programs, and that is why, local businessess are now contracting for day time advertisements. Local business farms can have a hard time in the recent times and that is why they are decreasing their advertisements. So, without knowing the specific facts, the author can not categorically specify the reason of decreasing revenue to the late night news coverage.

So, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide irrational assumptions. The conclusion provided by the author seems tenuous due to lack of supperting evidences. The manager should have provided more factual information and concrete logic to make tthe argument more cogent.