To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human civilization evolves through the increased interdisciplinary interactions of people within a society and that society is built up on numerous norms and factors like religion, culture, literacy, interpersonal relationship of society members, infrastructure and so on. Characteristics of a society depends on those factors and they are correlated to both the cities and the rustic areas. So, to understand a society's characteristics, one must study it's cities is a plausible and qualified statement.

The issue attempts to bridge a strict relation between a societies characteristics and its cities which is too extreme to comply with. As a society is comprised of both the cities and villages, rural areas are also an intrinsic part of those characteristics. As in developing countries, most of the region is rural area, societies characteristics largely depend on it. Education, literacy level, social and economic infrastructure reflects the index of prosperity of a society and we can not imagine a society to reach the apex of prosperity without enfranchising its rural areas. In Bangladesh, a famous quote saying " If we can sustain our villages, our country will sustain", which clearly depicts the importance of rural areas.

On the other hand, cities are the heart of a country, center of all trade, governance. Technological innovations, infrastructural advancement, industrialization, educational institutions are largely centered to the cities. We can more or less predict the social and economical condition of a society by observing the cities. Likewise, by looking at the city of Baghdad we can assume the wretched condition of the Muslim society of that war torn area now. Cities are like the skin of a society whereas villages are the internal organs. To make the whole system work, as it is essential to keep the internal organs healthy, at the same time external parts also needed to be maintained perfectly. If any part fails, the whole system collapse.

Building upon the implication that cities are not the only factor to be studied to understand the characteristics of a society but as important as rural areas, we can conclude that the issue will be more substantiated if we can include the above considerations.