A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument attempts to bridge a strong positive correlation between pet ownership and healthier life. The conclusion is based on the premises that, dog owners have lower heart incidence of heart disease. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes evident that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of misleading assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is that the argument is based on a study, which reported, pet owners have longer, healthier lives than people who owns no pet. But the scope and validity of the report is not justified. The author did not present any concrete evidence regarding the actual comparison between these two section of people regarding their living condition, economic condition, age. For example, presumably, a person who owns some pets can have a better economic condition than a destitute person who hardly can bear his life late alone a pet. So, obviously it is possible that, a person of wealth can have better physic no matter what he is having any pet or not. That is why, without exemplifying the exact comparison regarding physical, environmental, economical conditions, that study can only undermine the conclusion rather than strengthen it. Additionally, we can not reject the possibility that the the study was backed up by the people doing business of pets and publicizing that type of study results, so that, they can expect to have a boost up in their business.

Moreover, another pitfall of the argument is that it specifically emphasize on having a dog pet for reducing heart disease risk. But it is known to all that, when a person owns a dog/pet, sometimes he may go out for morning walk with it. That daily walk can have a significant positive impact on the person, as we know exercise like walking strengthen heart and other muscle of the body. That is why, having a dog can not be attributed to healthy physic and less heart disease of the owner rather the daily exercise does the main job. So, that pitfall seriously undermines the conclusion of the whole statement.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to present irrational assumptions. The solution presented by the author seems tenuous due to lack of supporting evidences. The author must have given more concrete evidence to substantiate his viewpoint and to make the argument a more cogent one.