Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Education is one of the main basic standard through which a nation can measure its growth & development index. It's an issue of much debate either to enforce students to take additional courses of different discipline during university education or not & there are many valid argument to both of the side. What I feel is that universities should not force them to take those courses but of course should have provision for those who are enthusiastic, energetic & traditional academic lessons cannot satiate their insatiable appetite for learning.

Learning is a continuous process where our universities play an important role by serving as an institution to assist mostly academic as well as enriching our mental & spiritual state by allowing us a wide field of resource additional to academic goal. Although there are no limit for learning, most of the time we need to focus on particular goal & work on that. During graduation a student specializes in a particular subject & focuses on that specific topic. But if the university imposes some different courses, it can thwart his spirit because he may not be interested in those topics, sometimes it may be of very little relevance to the area of his specialization. For example, a CSE student enrolled in a course of ancient roman poetry, which may add nothing to his specialization. Again, if we look at typical south Asian culture, a student enters into the university with a lot of hope to complete graduation, get a job, support his family. But if he is forced to take some additional courses irrelevant to his major, it will not only be a waste of his valuable time but also cost him some money which could have been used in some more useful purpose to support his family.

On the other hand, additional courses aren't irrelevant all the time. For example, an Engineering student may need some knowledge on microcontroller to take part in a robotic challenge competition though he can have no academic knowledge about it & that's why enrolling in that course won't be a waste of money & time. Moreover, academic knowledge cannot always satiate the voracious learner & that's why if he's not satisfied there should be path open for them. Academic knowledge can help us to build up a career but it's not enough to let the great be born. Shakespeare, Rabindranath, Adison they weren't born by the conventional learning pattern rather they searched for the it by being dissenter from typical wisdom & academic knowledge. If we only focus on academics & excellence than there won't be anyone to bring out what has not been done, no one to bring the light where it was empty before.

Finally, it's evident that we cannot allow to impose something on us, at the same time there should have some provision for those who wants to learn more. As, because we live in a multi faceted world, every person should have some basic knowledge outside his discipline to understand a certain perspective more deeply as learning has no limits.