"Regulators and policymakers should respond to potential environmental threats even before the information is fully known or concrete."

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The statement attempts to urge the policymakers and regulators to respond to any information regarding environmental threats, no matter what it is valid or not. Surely many of us have felt the following sentiment, however, that type of attitude should not be the in the first place and that is why, i agree with the statement with some qualifications.

Certainly preservation of the environment is the prior concern in the present world and that is why any threat regarding environment focuses much attention. As world is changing and technological advancement is bringing drastic developments to the civilization, which eventually have influence on the surrounding environment. However, it is becoming more difficult to certainly ascribe any specific positive or negative impact on environment as a result of that techno innovation initially. Sometimes it is on favor of the environment, likewise, the recent breakthrough in green energy, which reduces our dependence on fossil fuel, is certainly a achievement to embrace.

In addition, nuclear power plants are being used to meet the constant increase in power demand, which reduces our dependence on traditional fossil fuel. On the other hand, it can be destructive too, for example, invention of nuclear weapon is undoubtedly destructive to the environment. So, now we can see that the there is an ambivalent situation to decide which direction to go for. Sometimes, vile information regarding environment pollution spread to make the situation unstable to take political advantages regarding the project. For example, in Bangladesh, "Ruppur Power Plant" is a project taken by the government to meet the power demand in the country and it is causing much controversy regarding environment pollution.

Needless to say, some changes are certainly causing harm, like diversion of a river, which in most of the time causing imbalance to the ecological balance and inhabitants living through the downstream. So, there are many changes which posit threat to the environment without any exception.

To conclude, environmental threats which are conspicuous for their tragic development should be protested and others should be gone though rigorous study before thwarting the development. Protesting without knowing properly is not preservation, rather table the development.