Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The statement simply asserts that, government should not fund scientific research whose consequences are unclear. In the first glance, it seems that the assertion has some merit from a normative viewpoint, however, in deeper analysis, that type of assertion is indefensible. Below I will discuss the reasons of my stance.

Scientific research are done to bring out a change and most of the time to reduce the sufferings of mankind. However, it is true that, scientist can not bring the positive result all the time through a research, sometimes that can be detrimental too. A research activity is done to make the unknown divulge the information which can be applied for the betterment of human. But, if the consequences of a research is known beforehand, it may not be a breakthrough. We have to know the difference between a systematic research activity and knowing the consequences before of a research activity. Systematic research is necessary to ensure the fund is not going to be a wastage, whereas, a known consequence means, scientist knows the result more or less before the research is actually done. If result is mostly perceptive, it can bring a positive and good result, but breakthrough is not necessarily achieved.

Additionally, in a lot of the cases, the result of a research was serendipitous. Scientist were actually working on a completely different issue, but fortunately discovered a whole new thing. Similarly, there are situations, where the result can not be anticipated before the actual research. In that case, we can not just ban the research because of not knowing the result or consequences before hand.

On the other hand, there may arise questions like, there are more problems of the present condition which need to be solved rather to allocate resource to some unpropitious research activity which can be also a futile attempt. That contention is logical, but we have to remember that, the result of today's research which is seemingly an unnecessary expenditure, can solve the problems of tomorrow. We can not avoid the fact that, advance researches which are going on different fields today, are actually paving the way of solution to the future problems.

So, finally, we can say that, government should not restrict funding on research whose consequences are not conspicuous. Today's seemingly unnecessary solution can have substantial positive impact on tomorrow's problems.