Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action.

The statement attempts to bridge a relationship between the moral stand of an activity and the intent of the person or people performing the action. The claim says that, an action is justifiable if its outcome is good and the reason behind that claim is that, result of an action is more important than the intent of the person doing it. I certainly agree with the claim that, action should be carried on if it's good outweighs the bad result. But at the same time I think, intent of the person performing the action is important and that is why I find the reasoning of the claim indefensible.

In our everyday life, we do different types of job, we do communicate with people, help them in need, try to solve conflict. However, most of our works are based on the reasoning that, whether that task is doing good to the person or community that we are serving. If our action is not bringing any good to the society, there is no justification of doing that. But the problem is that, in most of the case, we can not judge the situation beforehand because we can not predict the final outcome. In that situation, the morality of our action is based mostly on our intent. If a person's intent is good, than his action should be considered justifiable from the normative standpoint.

We live in a world where emotion plays an important role in defining our course of action. Sometimes we can not control our emotion and thus it affect our true intention and eventually actions. For example, if we consider the incident of atomic bomb explosion during WWII in japan, from a normative standpoint, that type of action is unjustifiable. That explosion took millions of life and japan is still paying for that atrocity because of its atomic radiation. Now, if we look at the incident from the point of practicality, that type of action eventually makes sense. Because of that incident, Japan moved its back from the war and the atrocity of the WWII abated to a large extent. That single action reduced the length of WWII to a large extent. So, if we look at the intent of the action, that was justifiable. So, we can not judge a situation from its immediate result, but the implication and intent of the action is also important.

Lastly, we can say that, it is unjustifiable to judge the moral standing of an action just from the result, rather actions should be justified from its implication and actual intent. There can be situation when, the intent was good but the action did not work out perfectly. Just based on the result, we should not judge the merit of an action.