In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than they are today

The statement claims that, there will be fewer cars in use in twenty years than there are today. In the blank eye, it may seem ridiculous to claim such thing as everyday there are thousands of new cars hitting the road. However, in deeper analysis, I found that statement appropriate and that is why I support it to the fullest. Below I will discuss the reasons of my stance.

The way in which our world is going in the path of development, it is really difficult to predict the future and what will happen after 20 years is some type of throwing a blind guess. However, there is a trend and based on which forecasting is done all the time. Today, the rate at which the auto makers are producing cars are obviously higher than previous time. But the problem is that, if we look at the percentage increase in auto selling, we will see that, it is not actually increasing. The world car industry has sold enough cars already and now the market is being saturated. So, clearly in future, it will start to decrease.

However, the decrease in selling cars do not means that, there will be fewer cars in use in future. But, the world's transportation advancement is actually responsible for that situation. In recent days, we can see that, all the major cities are working hard to introduce mass rapid transport system. At one time it was feasible to have a car for a person. But today, the roads are getting more jam packed day by day and government's are thinking the way out of that intolerable traffic and congestion. In all major cities, the city is suffering from traffic and car's are the main culprit of that situation. In a study, it has been shown that, in Bangladesh, 85% of the road spaces are taken by private cars whereas they are transporting only 5% of total population. On the other hand, public transports are taking only 11% space and transporting more than 90% people. So, that is why governments are seriously moved by that issue and investing in public transport like bus, metro, BRT and some others. So, decrease in the amount of cars is visible due to government's increasing taxation and other restriction on cars.

Lastly, the world is growing in a rapid pace and advancement. There are newer and better technology coming everyday. Air travel is becoming cheaper, concept like hyper loop and teleportation is seeing light day by day. Concepts like having a car is getting old and also become sometimes burdensome for owners because of increasing government restriction and traffic congestion. At the same time, in 20 years, world may see a new medium of transportation, which may redefine the concept of cars.

So, to conclude, it is evident that, the advancement of technology, growing environmental concern because of fossil fuel used by cars, increasing traffic and government's relentless effort to introduce comfortable and cheap transportation is going to reduce the number of cars hitting the roads today.