Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

According to the claim, there are a lot of problems, which can not be solved by laws and legal system. The premises of that claim is based on the reason that, laws cannot change what is in people's hearts and minds, which is certainly true according to my point of view and that is why I agree with the claim.

Laws are the set of rules, which dictates, how an individual should act and behave to a certain circumstances. Our behavior is largely influenced because of the limits set by the law. That is why, problems of a society can be eradicated in a great extant, by enforcing strict laws and legal system. However, it is not wise to hope that, all the problems will be solved if we enforce laws respective to a problem. Actually, we humans, by nature, enjoy leniency and loves to be freed from all obligations. Sometimes, there are situations, which can be solved through our humanity attitude towards the problem. If a person is forced to love his country, it will be a futile effort to make him work for the country if he does not feels that way by himself. Patriotism can not be built up by force or law, if the person does not feel for his country, similarly, that idea applies to other aspects of our life.

Laws can make people aware of their act and inform about the consequence of violating it. But can it really make us bound to follow it? For example, a certain state declares that, if a person smokes in public place, he will be fined 500$. But it is logical to assume that, after announcing that law, there will be no smoking in public place? Certainly, most of the people will start to avoid smoking in public place but at the same time, there will be some people, no matter what, will break the law. So, it is the matter of choice for some, either to follow the custom or to break it. So, to make people restrain from doing something, it is essential to make them aware of the consequences by inciting awareness rather than imposing something to follow. If the nation can successfully raise awareness, convince them to distinguish the right from wrong, then it would make the situation much better and leads toward the solution more easily.

So, to conclude, it is needless to say, as most of the problems can be solved by legal system, we can not deny the impact of a law in solving social problems, but at the same time, relying on laws and hope that it would solve all the problems, would not be a good idea as there are many more people, who loves to break it and therefore make the situation worse.