Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art is a passion that comes from intrinsic human nature and flourishes through years of practice and hard work. Government funding in that field can pose some serious threat to the integrity of the main basic of the sector. Most of the time artist's work for satiating their thirst rather than recognition, additional funding can impact that tenant of art. At the same time, there are some obvious benefit can be achieved from government funding and so I agree with the first statement with some qualifications.

In today's world, if we look closely, major art movements are patronized by the government. To thrive in the modern world, a country needs to subsidize the artist and artistic movement. But because of the nature of that field, there are some factors we need to consider. Passion for art can not be grown by just patronizing and spending money, rather it is a matter of self interest. A person can not thrive in that sector without intrinsic ability and passion for this. It is also true that, there are a few great artist like Picasso, who garnered his artistic experience through years of passion and hard work. But my main point of discussion here is that, increasing amenities and remuneration by government funding can not guarantee arts to be flourished.

Similarly, public funding can pose threat like, in most of the cases, people enters in that field to satiate their thirst, not with a hope for money, fame, recognition. If we look back to the history, most of the major artist lived a simple life without any aristocracy. Question may arise, they did live that life because of scarcity of government funding but we can not deny the fact that, there were always a substantial amount of investment from the private field all the time. So, the problem of government funding is that, some artist will be deviated from their passion and work for recognition. Additional question is that, who will assure uniformity of that distribution of fund? In many of the cases, proper recognition will not be given to the most eligible one rather political bias will take precedence in the system. Eventually, many artist will be depressed because of that system and can be demotivated.

Notwithstanding, government funding of arts can play important role by sponsoring art exhibition, founding art gallery, recognizing the legends of the nation in the field of arts. The reason behind that's importance is that, new generation can be aware of their culture, major artistic movement, the people behind that gargantuan journey and the appreciation from the nation because of their contribution. As a result, young people would be more encouraged to enter in that sector. So, we can not defy the contribution of government funding in strengthening the integrity of the arts.

Finally, to conclude, it is necessary to have government funding to thrive in the modern world in the field of art but we have to be cautious to make sure that, the integrity of art is not hampered by mismanagement and main tenants of art is not undermined.