Television advertising directed toward children under the age of five should not be allowed.

The statement states that, television advertising should not be allowed which is primarily focused toward young children. Sometimes that type of assertion may seem merit-less by some people, however, in deeper analysis, I find that assertion perfect. Below I will discuss the reasons of my stance.

Children at a very little age (two to five) can not perceive a situation clearly as their cognitive development skill is not completed yet. When a child is exposed to a advertisement, they can not judge the product based on the fact, which helps an adult to decide about the product. Most of the time, children are attracted to the product because of color, packaging, fantasy characters and some others which is not the standard to judge a product. So, that is why, when a child walks through a chain shop, it wish the product that have fancy looking or color. Advertisers also take the advantage of that incapability of perceiving a situation.

Secondly, there are some situations where advertisers do host selling, which confound the child to differentiate between the actual character and the character of the advertisement. Advertisers present their product with the character that children like most like a cartoon character or a superhero. As children can not differentiate, they wish the product. So, by doing this, advertisers attract child and take advantage of their inability to differentiate.

Another problem associated with advertisement is that, children can not perceive disclaimers as an adult can do. For example, if a cereal advertise their product and include a disclaimer, "when taken with other food with nutritious value", which a child may perceive as that cereal is needed to complete or have other food's nutritious value. So, advertisers take that advantage of incapability to perceive disclaimer.

From the above discussion, we learn that, children can not decide about a product and it's quality. So, advertising which is mainly focused on deceiving child because of their incapability should not be allowed.