Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement attempts to state that, government should not obstruct scientific research by placing frequent restriction rather can apply a few in need. It is true that, research activity can not be taken out perfectly, while encumbered with restrictions, but at the same time government have the right and should restrict some of the research for the shake of the nation, for mankind.

Technological advancement and any breakthrough in any field of scientific research is the result of collaboration between the government and private organizations. Without government assistant ship in some crucial moment, research activities are not possible. For example, if we look at NASA, CERN, the level of advancement they are making everyday, mostly attributed to the government assistant ship. Without sanction from the government, the level of experiment, what they are doing for decades would not have been possible. So, if government places restriction on research activities, defines the research objective, sanction certain experiment, than the whole structure will be in a standstill. Without government backup, exploration of the moon, Mars, Pluto would not have been possible, without monetary sanction in mega research projects, maybe gravitational wave detection would not have been possible that early. So, for the advancement and innovation, government should not impose restriction like: what type of experiment should be done?, what type of result is expected?

On the other hand, government can not just reluctantly allow all type of experiments and research. Sometimes, rules and regulations are necessary to make sure whether the research activity, which is ongoing is for the good of civilization, for humankind. For example, If American government have placed restriction on building nuclear bomb during WWII, Japan would not have to face the destruction in Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Sometimes, government should restrict controversial experiments to keep peace with other countries.

To conclude, it is undeniable that restriction thwarts development no matter what it is from government or private organizations. But as government is the main driving force of large projects, any mega project, restriction should be kept within a reasonable limit to allow the scientist work freely, to bring out the best of an research.